tions, and the civilian supply function. To meet this responsibility there have been established within the Department a Canadian Government Purchasing Service, a Canadian Government Supply Service and a Canadian Government Repair Service which are being developed to form a future Department of Supply.

The Canadian Government Purchasing Service consists of five operational branches: Aircraft, Electrical and Electronics, Machinery, Shipbuilding and Heavy Equipment and General Purchasing. The Canadian Government Supply Service consists of six headquarters branches, a Regional Supply Centre operated as a pilot operation in Ottawa, a system of regional purchasing offices in Canada, the United States and Europe, and the Crown Assets Disposal Corporation. The six headquarters branches are: Regional Purchasing, Warehousing and Distribution, Specifications and Standards, Traffic Management, Cataloguing and Quality Management. The Canadian Government Repair Service provides maintenance, repair and overhaul services and technical advice to Federal Government departments and agencies for all non-military machines, equipment and other products located in Canada.

The service and advisory functions of the Department are performed by the Contracts Approval Board, the Contract Policy Group, the Legal Adviser and the following branches: Comptroller, Contracts. General Services, Management Control, Management Services and Personnel.

The Emergency Supply Planning Branch is responsible for planning a War Supply Agency which, in the event of a nuclear war, would exercise control over the production, distribution and pricing of civil and military supplies.

The following Crown companies and agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production: Canadian Arsenals Limited, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation, Polymer Corporation Limited, Canadian Commercial Corporation and Canada Emergency Measures Organization. The Canadian Government Printing Bureau is also responsible to the Department of Defence Production.

Dominion Bureau of Statistics.—The Dominion Bureau of Statistics was set up by statute in 1918 as a central statistical department for Canada (SC 1918, c. 43). In 1948 this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (RSC 1927, c. 190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (RSC 1952, c. 257); it was amended by SC 1952-53, c. 18, assented to Mar. 31, 1953,

The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct regularly a census of population and agriculture of Canada as required under the Act.

The Bureau is a major publication agency of the Federal Government; its reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The administrative head of the Bureau is the Dominion Statistician who has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Department of Energy, Mines and Resources.—Under the terms of the Government Organization Act (SC 1966, c. 25), the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources supersedes the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys and encompasses certain functions formerly conducted by other departments and agencies. The Department, in addition to its administrative services, is organized into four groups: the Research Group includes the Geological Survey of Canada Branch, the Mines Branch, the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Observatories Branch and the Geographical Branch, all of which are engaged in research and the provision of information in their respective fields; the Mineral Development Group includes the Mineral Economics Branch, which gathers economic data for all minerals for use of government, industry and the public and conducts administrative functions of resource management, and the Explosives Division which controls, under the provisions of the Explosives Act, the production and handling of explosives; the Water Group is concerned with all types of water matters including groundwater and cceanic investigations and surveys, water pollution, water power, water conservation and control, and federal-provincial and international studies and regulations; the Energy Development Group recommends and advises on energy policies in the total context of all energy sources and future energy requirements.

The following Crown corporations report to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources: the National Energy Board, the Dominion Coal Board, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited, Eldorado Aviation Limited and the Atomic Energy Control Board.

Department of External Affairs.—This Department was established in 1909 by "An Act to create a Department of External Affairs" (RSC 1952, c. 68). Its main function is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The Minister responsible for the Department is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer (Deputy Minister) of the Department, the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, is assisted by a Deputy Under-Secretary and by four Assistant Under-Secretaries and is advised by the officers in charge of the various divisions. The divisional heads are each responsible for a part of the work of the Department and they are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, External Affairs Officers, other administrative officers and an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as High Commissioners, Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First Secretaries, Second Secretaries, Third